_140_245_Book.1398.cover

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Happy New Year readers and fellow bloggers! I hope you will forgive me for my brief vacation from the world wide web to enjoy Christmas and New Years with family and friends.  I am back at my desk and ready to get back into the game. My first review is a book I requested to read over break entitled “Forever Mom: What to expect when you’re adopting” by Mary Ostyn. Mary Ostyn is a fellow blogger, a writer and an educator on adoption. She has her own internet site titled owlhaven.net. I chose this book because though I have never adopted before it is something that has weighed on my mind and as a parent to a five year old boy I know that being a mother is a treasure unlike any other. I was pleasantly surprised though when I began reading chapter by chapter that this was much more than just a book about adoption and Mary’s personal story. Yes, this book has inspiration and is faith-based. Yes, it is about the ups and downs of adoption, but anyone who is a parent would benefit from this book, so do not let the title sway you from picking it up. The book features great tips and ideas on attachment parenting, building connections and maintaining your own personal relationships while parenting.

Whereas, with some books you skim the pages and find yourself struggling to finish, this book is written with such personalized detail that the words are not stagnant but actually lively and as if she was speaking to you in conversation as opposed to a lecture or chapter book. I could feel her passion in all the words she spoke regarding her faith, her struggle and the path she is walking with her husband to give better lives to these children. I would definitely recommend this book to any and all parents whether adopted or not. You will walk away having taken a value from at least something in these pages.

Forever Mom is a forever HIT for Up Close and Caffeinated. Thank you BookLook Bloggers for the opportunity!

